Pipeline Invitational athletes and alternates revealed

Image: Waterman League

With the focus on showcasing Hawaii born talent at what is Hawaii’s most iconic wave, here is the shortlist of 10 athletes selected for the Pipeline Invitational in memory of Duke Kahanamoku.

However, with the option of more time for this unique showcase, we have identified a further 6 athletes who remain on the Alternate list should we be able to expand the exhibition event and showcase a few select internationals in the mix, as well as some additional Hawaii talents.

Kainoa McGee (Oahu)
Nolan Keaulana (Oahu) – Art in Surf
Noa Ginella (Oahu) – Naish
Mo Freitas (Oahu) – Focus SUP
Robin Johnston (Oahu) – Coreban
Kai Lenny (Maui) – Naish
Zane Schweitzer (Maui) – Starboard
Keali’i Mamala (Big Island)
Ikaika Kalama (Big Island) – Rogue
Bullet Obra (Big Island)

Alternate List:

Caio Vaz (BRA) – Art in Surf
Justin Holland (AUS) – Starboard
Keahi de Aboitiz (AUS) – JP Australia
Sean Poynter (USA) – Starboard
Kody Kerbox (Maui) – Naish
Bernd Roediger (Maui) – Naish

Source: Waterman League